• NSMIT (MyNSM)

Faculty

Select a category below to jump directly to that section...

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty
Barbara Chapman Chapman, Barbara
Professor
Ph. D., Queen's University, Belfast, N. Ireland
Compiler Technology, Parallel Programming Languages, Tool Support for Application Development, Parallel Computing and High-Performance Computing, Computational Grids

Office: PGH 215
Phone: (713) 743-3354
Email: bchapman@uh.edu
Guoning Chen Chen, Guoning
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Oregon State University
Scientific Data Analysis and Visualization, Computational Topology, Geometric Modeling, Dynamical Systems

Office: PGH 566
Phone: TBA
Email: gchen16@uh.edu
Albert Cheng Cheng, Albert
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Real Time Systems, Distributed Systems, AI, Software Engineering, Computer Security, Computer Networks

Office: PGH 534
Phone: (713) 743-3353
Email: amcheng@uh.edu
Kam-Hoi Cheng Cheng, Kam-Hoi
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Artificial Intelligence, Object-Oriented Paradigm, Parallel Processing

Office: PGH 579
Phone: (713) 743-3357
Email: khcheng@uh.edu
Zhigang Deng Deng, Zhigang
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Computer Graphics, Computer Animation, Interactive Media and Gaming, Human Computer Interaction

Office: PGH 536
Telephone: (713) 743-1018
Email: zdeng4@uh.edu
Christoph Eick Eick, Christoph
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Karlsruhe, Germany
Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining, Evolutionary Computing,
Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Databases

Office: PGH 589
Phone: (713) 743-3345
Email: ceick@uh.edu
Edgar Gabriel Gabriel, Edgar
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Stuttgart, Germany
Message Passing Systems, High Performance Computing, Parallel Computing on Distributed Memory Machines, Grid Computing

Office: PGH 524
Phone: (713) 743-3857
Email: egabriel@uh.edu
Omprakash Gnawali Gnawali, Omprakash
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Wireless and Sensor Networks, Network Protocols and Architectures, Mobile Sensing, Social Networks, and Distributed Systems

Email: gnawali@cs.uh.edu
Stephen Huang Huang, Stephen S.-H.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin
Data Structures, Design and Analysis of Algorithms, Computer Security, Intrusion Detection

Office: PGH 594
Phone: (713) 743-3338
Email: shuang@cs.uh.edu
Olin Johnson Johnson, Olin
Professor
Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley
Numerical Analysis, High Performance Computing

Office: PGH 596
Phone: (713) 743-3343
Email: johnson@cs.uh.edu
Lennart Johnsson Johnsson, Lennart
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen University Professor of Computer Science, Mathematics and Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ph.D., Chalmers Institute of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
Parallel Computer Systems Architecture, Run-Time Systems, Data Parallel Programming and Large-Scale Applications

Office: PGH 592
Phone: (713) 743-3371
Email: Johnsson@cs.uh.edu
Ioannis Kakadiaris Kakadiaris, Ioannis
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen University Professor of Computer Science, ECE and Biomedical Engineering
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Biomedical Image Analysis; Computational Biomedicine; Biometrics; Computer Vision; Pattern Recognition

Office: PGH 219
Phone: (713) 743-1255
Email: ioannisk@uh.edu
Ernst Leiss Leiss, Ernst
Professor
Dr. Techn., TU Wien, Vienna
Vector and Parallel Computing, Data Security, Databases, Formal and Programming Languages, Geophysical Data Processing

Office: PGH 522
Phone: (713) 743-3359
Email: eleiss@uh.edu
Arjun Mukherjee Mukherjee, Arjun
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago
Bayesian Inference, Data Mining, Natural Language Processing, Sentiment Analysis, Opinion Spam, Web Mining

Office: PGH 582 
Email: arjun@cs.uh.edu
Carlos Ordonez Ordonez, Carlos
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Database Systems, Data Mining

Office: PGH 571
Phone: (713) 743-1013
Ordonez Email
Gopal Pandurangan Pandurangan, Gopal
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Brown University
Algorithms, Distributed Computing, Networks, Large-scale Data, Computational Biology

Office: PGH 572
Phone: (713) 743-5556
Email: gopal@cs.uh.edu
Jehan-Francois Paris Pâris, Jehan-François
Professor
Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley
Distributed Systems, Storage Systems, Performance Evaluation

Office: PGH 569
Phone: (713) 743-3341
Email: jfparis@uh.edu
Ioannis Pavlidis Pavlidis, Ioannis
Eckhard Pfeiffer Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Computational Biomedicine, Biometrics, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Software Engineering

Office: PGH 209
Phone: (713) 743-0101
Email: ipavlidis@uh.edu
Shishir Shah Shah, Shishir
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
Quantitative Microscopy, Computational Biology, Image Analysis, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognitio0n, Image Instrumentation

Office: 564 PGH
Phone: (713) 743-3360
Email: shah@cs.uh.edu
Shi, Weidong (Larry) Shi, Weidong (Larry)
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Enabling System Technologies for Services, Computing Systems, Behavioral Computing

Office: 567 PGH
Email: larryshi@cs.uh.edu
Solorio, Thamar Solorio, Thamar
Associate Professor
Ph.D., National Institute of Astrophysics, Optics, and Electronics
Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction

Office: 584 PGH
Phone: (713) 743-5542
Email: solorio@cs.uh.edu
Jaspal Subhlok Subhlok, Jaspal
Professor and Chair
Ph.D., Rice University
Compiler and RunTime Support for Parallel and Distributed Systems, Network Based Computing, Scientific and Stream Processing Applications

Office: PGH 217
Phone: (713) 743-3340
Email: jaspal@uh.edu
Nikolaos V. Tsekos Tsekos, Nikolaos V.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computer Technology, Robotics and Physiology

Office: 595 PGH
Phone: (713) 743-3358
Email: ntsekos@cs.uh.edu
Rakesh Verma Verma, Rakesh
Professor
Ph.D., State University of New York-Stony Brook
Formal Methods, Computational Logic, Text/Data Mining and Computer Security

Office: 532 PGH
Phone: (713) 743-3348
Email: rverma@uh.edu
Ricardo Vilalta Vilalta, Ricardo
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Machine Learning, Computational and Statistical Learning Theory, Neural Networks, Data Mining, Artificial Intelligence

Office: 573 PGH
Phone: (713) 743-3614
Email: vilalta@cs.uh.edu

 

Instructional Faculty
Victoria Hilford Hilford, Victoria
Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Programming Languages, Object-Oriented Analysis and Design, Data Structures, Database Management, Software Engineering, Fault Tolerant Computing Systems, Web Programming

Office: PGH 513
Phone: (713) 743-3342
Email: vhilford@cs.uh.edu
Nouhad Rizk Rizk, Nouhad
Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Doctorate, Leicester University, UK
E-Learning, Information Retrieval, Parallel Programming, Web Designing

Office: PGH 529
Phone: (713) 743-3710
Email: njrizk@uh.edu
Chang Yun Yun, Chang
Instructional/Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Interactive Game Design/Development, Video Game Research, Serious Game, Computer-Aided Education, Human-Computer Interaction

Office: 514 PGH
Phone: (713) 743-3366
Email: cyun@uh.edu

 

Research Faculty
Yuri Fofanov Fofanov, Yuriy
Research Professor
Ph.D., Kuibyshev (Samara) State University, USSR
Bioinformatics, Applied Statistics, Mathematical Modeling and Information Theory

Office: PGH 230
Phone: (713) 743-8553
Email: yfofanov@uh.edu
Pablo Guillen Guillen, Pablo
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Polytechnic University of Catalonia (UPC), Barcelona, Spain
Machine Learning, Statistical Learning, Pattern Recognition and Data Mining

Office: PGH 334 
Phone: (832) 842-7096
Email: pgrondon@uh.edu
Uday Kurkure Kurkure, Uday
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Biomedical Image Analysis, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition

Office: PGH 231
Email: ukurkure@uh.edu
Michail Mavroforakis Mavroforakis, Michail
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Athens, Greece
Machine Learning, Biomedical Image Analysis, Computational Biomedicine, Fractal Analysis

Office: PGH 219 
Phone: (857) 225-4975
Email: mmavrof@uh.edu
Dvijesh Shastri Shastri, Dvijesh
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Physiology Computing, Human-Computer Interaction, Image and Signal analysis, Computer Vision and Data Mining

Office: PGH 366
Phone: (713) 743-4581
Email: dshastri@uh.edu
Yonghong Yan Yan, Yonghong
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Programming Languages and Compilers, Parallel and High Performance Computing, and Computer Architectures

Office: PGH 204
Phone: (713) 743-3384
Email: yanyh@cs.uh.edu
Xi Zhao Zhao, Xi
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France
Biometrics, Feature Extraction, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition

Office: 348 PGH
Email: xzhao21@central.uh.edu
Rong Zheng Zheng, Rong
Research Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Wireless Networking, Distributed Systems, Network Simulation and Performance Modeling

Office: 565 PGH
Phone: (713) 743-2663
Email: rzheng@uh.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty
J.C. Huang Huang, J.C.
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Software Engineering, Real-Time Computer Systems, Program Analysis and Testing

Phone: (713) 743-3350
Email: jhuang@cs.uh.edu
Willis King King, Willis
Emeritus Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Computer Architecture, Distributed Systems

Phone: (713) 743-3350
Email: wkking@cs.uh.edu

 

Joint Faculty
Marc Garbey Garbey, Marc
Professor
Ph.D., Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France
Algorithms, Numerical Analysis, Parallel Computation and Scientific Computing

Office: PGH 501
Phone: (713) 743-3337
Email: mgarbey@uh.edu
Badrinath Roysam Roysam, Badrinath
Joint Professor of Computer Science
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ph.D., Washington University
Biological image analysis High-performance computing Brain tissue mapping and Neuroprosthetic devices Computational Immunology Subsurface sensing and imaging systems

Office: Engineering 1 N325
Phone: (713) 743-4400
Email: broysam@central.uh.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty
David Anderson Anderson, David
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Madison volunteer computing, distributed operating systems, real-times systems, computer graphics, and computer music

Email: davea@ssl.berkeley.edu
Christoph Karmonik Karmonik, Christof
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Saarbrücken, Germany
Cardiovascular Research, Texture Analysis, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Imaging and Spectroscopy

Email: CKarmonik@tmh.tmc.edu
Milos Kojic Kojic, Milos
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Rice University
Finite Element Methods and software Development for Applications in Engineering and Bioengineering

Email: mkojic@tmhs.org
Fatima Merchant Merchant, Fatima
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Computational Biology and Medicine

Email: fmerchant@uh.edu
Georgios Paliouras Paliouras, Georgios
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Manchester, UK
Machine Learning, Knowledge Discovery, Artificial Intelligence, Personalization, User Modeling, Information Filtering, Information Extraction, Event Recognition, Ontology Learning, Grammar Learning, Web Mining

Email: paliourg@iit.demokritos.gr
Stavros Perantonis Perantonis, Stavros
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., D.Phil. Comp. Physics, University of Oxford, UK
Computational Intelligence, Artificial Neural Networks, Image and Multimedia Processing, Pattern Classification, Pattern Recognition

Email: sper@iit.demokritos.gr
Uma Ramamurthy Ramamurthy, Uma 
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Memphis
Computer Architecture, Operating Systems, Database Systems, Modeling Cognitive Processes, Medical/Research Informatics

Email: uma.ramamurthy@bcm.edu
Eric Stotzer Stotzer, Eric
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Compilers and Systems Software, Parallel Programming Languages, High Performance Embedded Computing, Computer Architecture, Speech and Language Development

Email: ejstotzer@uh.edu
Venkat Subramaniam Subramaniam, Venkat
Adjunct Professor and Instructional Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Distributed Object Computing, Object Oriented Software Development, Object Databases

Email: svenkat@cs.uh.edu
Panagiotis Tsiamyrtzis Tsiamyrtzis, Panagiotis
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., School of Statistics, University of Minnesota
Statistical Aspects of Computer Vision Problems, (Bayesian) Statistical Process Control, Bayesian Statistics

Email: pt@aueb.gr
Theoharis Theoharis Theoharis, Theoharis
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., Oxford University, U.K.
Biometrics, Object Retrieval, Computer Graphics

Email: theotheo@idi.ntnu.no

 

Lecturers
Jose Baez-Franceschi Baez-Franceschi, Jose
MFA, University of Houston
BFA, Ringling College
Computer Animation, Game Development, Digital Multimedia Development and Sustainable Renewable Art

Office: Fleming 127
Phone:(713) 743-6174
Email: jabaez@uh.edu
Robert Lea Lea, Robert
Ph.D., University of Houston
Artificial Intelligence, Numerical Analysis, Computer Architecture

Office: PGH 531
Phone:(713) 743-3350
Email: blea@cs.uh.edu
Raj Singh Singh, Raj
Ph.D. University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Software Design, Software Engineering, Databases, Big Data, Business Intelligence, Data Warehousing, Data Mining


Office: PGH 531
Email: rsingh@cs.uh.edu

Click here for alternate link to faculty page.