• NSMIT (MyNSM)

Faculty

Select a category below to jump directly to that section...

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty
Barbara Chapman Chapman, Barbara
Professor
Ph. D., Queen's University, Belfast, N. Ireland
Compiler Technology, Parallel Programming Languages, Tool Support for Application Development, Parallel Computing and High-Performance Computing, Computational Grids

Office: PGH 215
(713) 743-3354
bchapman@uh.edu
Guoning Chen Chen, Guoning
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Oregon State University
Scientific Data Analysis and Visualization, Computational Topology, Geometric Modeling, Dynamical Systems

Office: PGH 566
TBA
gchen16@uh.edu
Albert Cheng Cheng, Albert
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Real Time Systems, Distributed Systems, AI, Software Engineering, Computer Security, Computer Networks

Office: PGH 534
(713) 743-3353
amcheng@uh.edu
Kam-Hoi Cheng Cheng, Kam-Hoi
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Artificial Intelligence, Object-Oriented Paradigm, Parallel Processing

Office: PGH 579
(713) 743-3357
khcheng@uh.edu
Zhigang Deng Deng, Zhigang
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Computer Graphics, Computer Animation, Interactive Media and Gaming, Human Computer Interaction

Office: PGH 536
713) 743-1018
zdeng4@uh.edu
Christoph Eick Eick, Christoph
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Karlsruhe, Germany
Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining, Evolutionary Computing,
Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Databases

Office: PGH 589
(713) 743-3345
ceick@uh.edu
Edgar Gabriel Gabriel, Edgar
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Stuttgart, Germany
Message Passing Systems, High Performance Computing, Parallel Computing on Distributed Memory Machines, Grid Computing

Office: PGH 524
(713) 743-3857
egabriel@uh.edu
Omprakash Gnawali Gnawali, Omprakash
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Wireless and Sensor Networks, Network Protocols and Architectures, Mobile Sensing, Social Networks, and Distributed Systems

gnawali@cs.uh.edu
Stephen Huang Huang, Stephen S.-H.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin
Data Structures, Design and Analysis of Algorithms, Computer Security, Intrusion Detection

Office: PGH 594
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Olin Johnson Johnson, Olin
Professor
Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley
Numerical Analysis, High Performance Computing

Office: PGH 596
(713) 743-3343
johnson@cs.uh.edu
Lennart Johnsson Johnsson, Lennart
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen University Professor of Computer Science, Mathematics and Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ph.D., Chalmers Institute of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
Parallel Computer Systems Architecture, Run-Time Systems, Data Parallel Programming and Large-Scale Applications

Office: PGH 592
(713) 743-3371
Johnsson@cs.uh.edu
Ioannis Kakadiaris Kakadiaris, Ioannis
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen University Professor of Computer Science, ECE and Biomedical Engineering
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Biomedical Image Analysis; Computational Biomedicine; Biometrics; Computer Vision; Pattern Recognition

Office: HBS 322
(713) 743-1255
ioannisk@uh.edu
Ernst Leiss Leiss, Ernst
Professor
Dr. Techn., TU Wien, Vienna
Vector and Parallel Computing, Data Security, Databases, Formal and Programming Languages, Geophysical Data Processing

Office: PGH 522
(713) 743-3359
eleiss@uh.edu
Arjun Mukherjee Mukherjee, Arjun
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago
Bayesian Inference, Data Mining, Natural Language Processing, Sentiment Analysis, Opinion Spam, Web Mining

Office: PGH 582 
arjun@cs.uh.edu
Carlos Ordonez Ordonez, Carlos
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Database Systems, Data Mining

Office: PGH 571
(713) 743-1013
Ordonez Email
Gopal Pandurangan Pandurangan, Gopal
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Brown University
Algorithms, Distributed Computing, Networks, Large-scale Data, Computational Biology

Office: PGH 572
(713) 743-5556
gopal@cs.uh.edu
Jehan-Francois Paris Pâris, Jehan-François
Professor
Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley
Distributed Systems, Storage Systems, Performance Evaluation

Office: PGH 569
(713) 743-3341
jfparis@uh.edu
Ioannis Pavlidis Pavlidis, Ioannis
Eckhard Pfeiffer Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Computational Biomedicine, Biometrics, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Software Engineering

Office: HBS 306
(713) 743-0101
ipavlidis@uh.edu
Shishir Shah Shah, Shishir
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
Quantitative Microscopy, Computational Biology, Image Analysis, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognitio0n, Image Instrumentation

Office: 564 PGH
(713) 743-3360
shah@cs.uh.edu
Shi, Weidong (Larry) Shi, Weidong (Larry)
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Enabling System Technologies for Services, Computing Systems, Behavioral Computing

Office: 567 PGH
larryshi@cs.uh.edu
Solorio, Thamar Solorio, Thamar
Associate Professor
Ph.D., National Institute of Astrophysics, Optics, and Electronics
Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction

Office: 584 PGH
(713) 743-5542
solorio@cs.uh.edu
Jaspal Subhlok Subhlok, Jaspal
Professor and Chair
Ph.D., Rice University
Compiler and RunTime Support for Parallel and Distributed Systems, Network Based Computing, Scientific and Stream Processing Applications

Office: PGH 217
(713) 743-3340
jaspal@uh.edu
Nikolaos V. Tsekos Tsekos, Nikolaos V.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computer Technology, Robotics and Physiology

Office: 595 PGH
(713) 743-3358
ntsekos@cs.uh.edu
Rakesh Verma Verma, Rakesh
Professor
Ph.D., State University of New York-Stony Brook
Formal Methods, Computational Logic, Text/Data Mining and Computer Security

Office: 532 PGH
(713) 743-3348
rverma@uh.edu
Ricardo Vilalta Vilalta, Ricardo
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Machine Learning, Computational and Statistical Learning Theory, Neural Networks, Data Mining, Artificial Intelligence

Office: HBS 332
(713) 743-3614
vilalta@cs.uh.edu
Instructional Faculty
Victoria Hilford Hilford, Victoria
Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Programming Languages, Object-Oriented Analysis and Design, Data Structures, Database Management, Software Engineering, Fault Tolerant Computing Systems, Web Programming

Office: PGH 513
(713) 743-3342
vhilford@cs.uh.edu
Nouhad Rizk Rizk, Nouhad
Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Doctorate, Leicester University, UK
E-Learning, Information Retrieval, Parallel Programming, Web Designing

Office: PGH 529
(713) 743-3710
njrizk@uh.edu
Chang Yun Yun, Chang
Instructional/Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Interactive Game Design/Development, Video Game Research, Serious Game, Computer-Aided Education, Human-Computer Interaction

Office: 514 PGH
(713) 743-3366
cyun@uh.edu
Research Faculty
Yuri Fofanov Fofanov, Yuriy
Research Professor
Ph.D., Kuibyshev (Samara) State University, USSR
Bioinformatics, Applied Statistics, Mathematical Modeling and Information Theory

Office: PGH 230
(713) 743-8553
yfofanov@uh.edu
Pablo Guillen Guillen, Pablo
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Polytechnic University of Catalonia (UPC), Barcelona, Spain
Machine Learning, Statistical Learning, Pattern Recognition and Data Mining

Office: HBS 334
(832) 842-7096
pgrondon@uh.edu
Walid Taha Taha, Walid
Research Professor
Ph.D., Oregon Graduate Institute
Cyber-Physical Systems, Modeling and Simulation, Embedded Systems, Programming Languages, Software Engineering

maroneal@gmail.com 
Panagiotis Tsiamyrtzis Tsiamyrtzis, Panagiotis
Research Associate Professor
Ph.D., School of Statistics, University of Minnesota
Statistical Aspects of Computer Vision Problems, (Bayesian) Statistical Process Control, Bayesian Statistics

pt@aueb.gr
Xi Zhao Zhao, Xi
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France
Biometrics, Feature Extraction, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition

Office: 348 PGH
xzhao21@central.uh.edu
Rong Zheng Zheng, Rong
Research Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Wireless Networking, Distributed Systems, Network Simulation and Performance Modeling

Office: 565 PGH
(713) 743-2663
rzheng@uh.edu
Emeritus Faculty
J.C. Huang Huang, J.C.
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Software Engineering, Real-Time Computer Systems, Program Analysis and Testing

(713) 743-3350
jhuang@cs.uh.edu
Willis King King, Willis
Emeritus Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Computer Architecture, Distributed Systems

(713) 743-3350
wkking@cs.uh.edu
Joint Faculty
Marc Garbey Garbey, Marc
Professor
Ph.D., Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France
Algorithms, Numerical Analysis, Parallel Computation and Scientific Computing

Office: PGH 501
(713) 743-3337
mgarbey@uh.edu
Deniz Gurkan Gurkan, Deniz
Joint Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Computer networking, measurements, software-defined networking, interoperable data exchange protocols, distributed systems, optical fiber communications.

Office: TCB 230B
(713) 743-4037
dgurkan@uh.edu
Han, Zhu
Joint Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
Big Data Analysis, Wireless Networking, Smart Grid, Resource Allocation, and Security

Office: W302 (Engineering Building II)
(713) 743-4437
zhan2@uh.edu
Fatima Merchant Merchant, Fatima
Joint Assistant Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Computational Biology and Medicine

fmerchant@uh.edu
Badrinath Roysam Roysam, Badrinath
Joint Professor of Computer Science
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Ph.D., Washington University
Biological image analysis High-performance computing Brain tissue mapping and Neuroprosthetic devices Computational Immunology Subsurface sensing and imaging systems

Office: Engineering 1 N325
(713) 743-4400
broysam@central.uh.edu
Adjunct Faculty
David Anderson Anderson, David
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Madison volunteer computing, distributed operating systems, real-times systems, computer graphics, and computer music

davea@ssl.berkeley.edu
Christophe Collet Collet, Christophe
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Toulon, France
Statistical Image Analysis, Multiscale Segmentation, Markov Models, Pattern Recognition and Classification, Bayesian Inference, Multigrid and Genetic Optimization

c.collet@unistra.fr
Hohl, Detlef
Adjunct Associate Professor
Ph.D., Technical University Aachen, Germany
Computational Physics & Chemistry, HPC, Seismic Processing and Inversion, Oil and Gas Reservoir Modeling, Big Data and Data Analytics for Oil and Gas, Reservoir Surveillance and 4D Seismic

Detlef.Hohl@shell.com
Milos Kojic Kojic, Milos
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Rice University
Finite Element Methods and software Development for Applications in Engineering and Bioengineering

mkojic@tmhs.org
Georgios Paliouras Paliouras, Georgios
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Manchester, UK
Machine Learning, Knowledge Discovery, Artificial Intelligence, Personalization, User Modeling, Information Filtering, Information Extraction, Event Recognition, Ontology Learning, Grammar Learning, Web Mining

paliourg@iit.demokritos.gr
Stavros Perantonis Perantonis, Stavros
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., D.Phil. Comp. Physics, University of Oxford, UK
Computational Intelligence, Artificial Neural Networks, Image and Multimedia Processing, Pattern Classification, Pattern Recognition

sper@iit.demokritos.gr
Uma Ramamurthy Ramamurthy, Uma 
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Memphis
Computer Architecture, Operating Systems, Database Systems, Modeling Cognitive Processes, Medical/Research Informatics

uma.ramamurthy@bcm.edu
Schwarz, Thomas
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
Storage Systems, Reliability Algebraic Signatures and their Application in Security and Storage Systems, and Database Systems

tschwarz@uca.edu.sv
Eric Stotzer Stotzer, Eric
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Compilers and Systems Software, Parallel Programming Languages, High Performance Embedded Computing, Computer Architecture, Speech and Language Development

ejstotzer@uh.edu
Venkat Subramaniam Subramaniam, Venkat
Adjunct Professor and Instructional Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Software Development, Principles and Practices

svenkat@cs.uh.edu
Tao, Cui
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Brigham Young University
Conceptual Modeling, Ontologies, Semantic Web, Clinical and Biomedical Informatics

cui.tao@uth.tmc.edu
Lecturers
Jose Baez-Franceschi Baez-Franceschi, Jose
MFA, University of Houston
BFA, Ringling College
Computer Animation, Game Development, Digital Multimedia Development and Sustainable Renewable Art

Office: Fleming 127
(713) 743-6174
jabaez@uh.edu
Robert Lea Lea, Robert
Ph.D., University of Houston
Artificial Intelligence, Numerical Analysis, Computer Architecture

Office: PGH 531
(713) 743-3350
blea@cs.uh.edu
Raj Singh Singh, Raj
Ph.D. University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Software Design, Software Engineering, Databases, Big Data, Business Intelligence, Data Warehousing, Data Mining

Office: PGH 531
rsingh@cs.uh.edu

Click here for alternate link to faculty page.